teenagenovels

Alla inlägg under september 2014

Av lily + zee - 4 september 2014 19:19

I woke up the next morning, sweat building up around the collar of my nightgown. Rolling out of my sheets I opened my eyes, almost out of breath from the dreams I had last night. I pull my hands through my thick hair, my elbows resting on my knees. I took a deep breath and tilted my head up to look out the window, the sun was shining and the sky was blue; it'll be a good day for choosing factions.

I brushed my blonde locks out of my eyes as I walked up to the line of folks, waiting to get let into the building. A nervous feeling was nagging down inside of me, in only a matter of moments I would be somewhere else; I would be someone else. I looked around, noticing the same guy from yesterday standing in the line further away from me, he was smiling at me. This made me smile back and look away, this time I met a young girls gaze; I saw her yesterday too. She smiled at me and I smiled back.

By the time when we finally got let into the building everyone was talking in low voices; murmuring and whispering to each other about the factions. The ceremony started and we all took our places, me sitting down beside my father by the stiffs.

A bunch of people's names got called up, after a while it was the boys' turn, who was named Caleb. A small smile spread across my face once I heard his name, he walked up to the table and chose his faction. I was to busy thinking about what to do when my name got called, me giving the room a dreadful look, I wasn't ready for this. And the whole part about me being a Divergent, how was that going to turn out?

I swallowed my words and thoughts as I hugged my fathers hand before leaving his side in the line of chairs. I stood up, everyone's eyes on me. Heat covered my face slightly, like I was ashamed for being different. I took a shaky breath, to try a sooth myself even just for a brief moment. Soon enough I stood on the stage, light surrounding me and the bowls in front of me. For a while I just stood there, but then I grabbed the knife, slicing it through my skin and letting a drop of blood build up and fall into the Dauntless bowl. Fire embraced the thick liquid and a frying sound was heard before all of the Dauntless people started applauding and screaming for their new member; me.

It was rarely that 'Stiffs' became Dauntless, because well they're pretty much the opposites of each other. And I was so ready for that change. But one thing that peeked my interest was the girl that I saw outside, she also chose to join the Dauntless. A smile spread across my face as everyone was set to leave, all of us started running and I followed the stream; knowing the Dauntless had something good but dangerous planned out for us as a first test. I ran so fast my legs almost started aching as I arrived at the destination set, we stopped underneath the railway for the train that took you all the way from the city to the edge. Most of the people around me, not many newcomers, started climbing up the rails and before I had the time to react someone grabbed onto my arm, pulling me along.

"C'mon, we can't let them down!", a girls voice rang in my ear, looking beside me I saw a brunette pale girl.

"Wait, are we supposed to climb up there?", I questioned feeling me being afraid of heights wasn't too good now. She turned to me, a sort of fire sparkling in her eyes.

"Yes! Now hurry!", she squealed a bit hurriedly like we were late for something. I nodded and pulled my courage together as I ran over to one of the poles and started climbing up. After a few struggling seconds I finally got up, seeing everyone stood there; waiting for something. The girl was fast at my side and she looked around, a wide smile playing on her lips as she saw and heard something in the distance. I jerked my head to the side to be surprised by the train, no, no wait they couldn't mean..?

"Hurry Stiffs!", said one of the black / red dressed males and pulled us along as the train rushed beside us, making my hair fly all directions. Everyone started jumping on as it soon was my turn, I managed to jump on with my skin intact.

I slid down onto the floor, almost out of breath as I rushed a hand through my blonde hair. The girl sat down beside me, she seemed to be used to adventure.

"I'm Raven", she greeted and grabbed my hand.

"Valentina", I smiled. She nodded all of a sudden the doors opened up, by one of the Dauntless. I stood up, curious to what was going on. To my surprise I saw people starting to jump from the train to a rooftop building. I gasped and turned around.

"They're jumping!", Raven flew up beside me, a chocked expression on her face but she looked at me again.

"Then what are we waiting for?", she smiled and I nodded, a slight fear in my stomach. But I knew I had to do everything I needed to.

We took each other's hands, a sort of electric feeling going through them as we jumped and landed on the stony ground. We rolled onto our backs but fast got up again as everyone gathered by the edge. I got up and went over there, seeing a guy with blonde hair, piercings and a couple of tattoos stepping in front of us.

"I'm Eric, I'm going to be one of your leaders here in Dauntless. This is the entrance, the only one in, now we need one of you to jump first", he informed and looked around while he said it to see if anyone caught onto the jumping part.

"What's down there?", someone asked with a slight worried tone.

"You'll just have to see for yourself. One of you have to be the first, now who is it going to be?", he asked again everyone looking around at each other. I felt some sort of courage building up inside of me and before I had the thought of it I spoke up.

"I am", I decided and stepped forward, a murmur going through the crowd. Eric looked at me with a slight glimpse of impression in his eyes. He nodded and gestured toward the edge. I went toward it and looked over to Raven, she smiled at me, her face pale of fright for me. I smiled back and turned back toward the whole in front of me, taking off my jacket and throwing it beside me. I also pulled out the band from my hair, leaving it hanging by my back.

"Today stiff", someone commented, making me slightly pissed off.

"Here goes nothing..", I mumbled for myself before letting go and jumping into nothingness.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Here's the next chapter, sorry it took a really long while but I've been busy with school.

Hope you enjoy.

x lovi.

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards