teenagenovels

Direktlänk till inlägg 27 december 2015

Chapter 1 - Geckos

Av lily + zee - 27 december 2015 03:02

 

It was a normal afternoon, the sun was at its highest point above on the blue cloud pattered sky, my uncle had been gone for a while now. That's how most days played out, me alone and curled up on the corner window, sometimes though, Uncle was home for supper.
I was pressed against the wooden frames of the window with one of the many old books in my hands. It was my dads old book that he had studied, one of the only ones that made it after the fire, although it was only paper it felt like it meant a lot more to me.

There was a sound from a car engines rustle and the wheels of the old thing pulling up alongside the big house signalled me my Uncle had finally returned. I checked the sight of my Uncle stepping out of his truck and to which confirmed my assumptions.
I hopped down from the place but accidentally bumped a couple of other books onto the floorboards in the living room. One of the books fell open which revealed an old photograph of our family. I picked it up and studied for a while with a faint smile over my lips to try and cover the sadness in my gut. I flipped it over and saw a date on it, February 8th 2003, one month after the fire?

”That can not be possible”, I mumble and flip it over again. I look first at my father, then my older sister, but my mothers face is burnt. What is this meant to be? I lose my train of thought with a confused stare plastered onto my face as the front door rustles. My Uncle steps inside and smiles warmly as he sees me.

”Nikki, did you have a good day today?”, Uncle hung his hat and coat onto the hangar and stepped out of his boots. I stood frozen in place and glanced down at the photograph before raising it in the air. There were tears forming in my eyes by now; but most of my mind was clouded by rage.

He stared at me with a cool stare, almost like he already knew, maybe he did? Maybe he knows everything? He was certainly not surprised by my finding, he must know I have figured it out, he knew I would find this.

”What the hell is this?”, I sternly snap and flash it in the air, my other hand is by my side already churned up into a fist, he knows.

”I knew you would find that sooner or later, knowing you, it's always sooner”, Uncle said calmly and returned to standing straight with a slight chuckle. I did't back down an inch.

”What do you mean? What does this mean, Uncle?”, I flipped the photograph and showed off the date, although it was certain he already knew about this, I just wanted to make my point clear.

”Sweetie, I think you might want to sit down”, he said and made his way over to the kitchen table. I frowned for a single moment before returning my cold stare. Is he trying to do the trick on me? I fumble with my thoughts for a second before snapping my eyes onto him again and rushing over to the table. I slam my hand onto the bench, my hand flat onto the surface, it leaves even my Uncle surprised.

”No! I will not sit down and you will not play with my mind; you will tell me now!”, I snap with a loud voice, but I knew I was out of my depths, I usually wasn't the one to get angry; but when I did ? it was not exactly a walk in the park. I calm myself and relax my arms before I continue,

”Tell me, please, is my family alive?”


My uncle sits there with long stare, but deep down there laid even the slightest hint of sadness, he quickly blinks and send me a confirming smile. I feel like everything breaks apart, the floorboards open up and send me into oblivion, how is this possible? I draw in a shaky breath that I wasn't aware that I'd been holding before a tear slips down my cheek. I bend down slightly and have to grab onto the desk for support; panic attacks, they happened sometimes.

”Nikki, are you okay?”, my Uncle hurries over to me but I brush him off.

”Don't”, I warn and collect myself shortly before I push past him and go for the door.

”I can't be here right now, don't wait up”, I glance over at him but hurry out the door with my jacket in my hand instead. I felt as if my mind was going to break. My father, my sister, they may be alive, my mother wouldn't be though. I know what the burnt face means in photographs.

What am I supposed to do now? Should I try and find them? I'm sure if my Uncle knew about this, then someone else must be aware of it as well, so why are we kept apart? Does my dad know? Maybe he's the one who is keeping us apart, he and Uncle, but there must be a reason for this. They wouldn't willingly separate the only family left unless for a greater cause. That much I know about us. We are proud. We are Falkov. And one thing about us; we do not leave family behind.



I rush my fingers messily through my blonde hair, I need to get a drink, I exhale rapidly and make my way towards my car. I hop inside and slam the door before I start the engine and head towards the only liquor store for miles.

”You can do this, you can, come on Nikita”, I mutter for myself sigh but continue with my eyes fixated to the road.

I clear my mind and look to my side, I notice a black car driving past me, in the drivers and passenger seat sit two young men dressed in black suits. I only see them for a few seconds when they drive past but both of them look at me with dangerous eyes. I notice one of them wears glasses. The driver flashes me a smile before he drives past.

I shake my head slowly and shiver slightly, for some reason those guys gave me the chills, I mean who the hell wears suits in 70°? I shrug it off and continue down the road. The liquor store comes to view only a while away now and I feel myself relax slightly. I pull up to the side of the practically abounded store and kill the engine with a swift reflex. I then exit my car and walk up to the door.

”Hey Pete”, I wave to the clerk and he smiles kindly. Although I didn't love this place, this was the only choice for anyone in several miles radius, so there really weren't any other choices. Being nice to the store clerk was the least I could do. I track around the shelves towards the coolers and drinks; which is where the alcohol would be as well.

The door opens at the front and I glance over to see a head of brown hair, that's all I see over the shelves, but I could tell it was a woman by the hair and high heels clicking onto the floor inside. I heard voices coming from the front, Pete and the woman, but before I could tune into what they might be saying the door opened again.

This time I did recognise the people who stepped inside. It was those fancy suits in the black car. I look up the slightest but hear one of them head to the bathroom and the other over here so I casually turn back to the cool drinks. I didn?t have to look his way to know he was staring, it was the one with the glasses, the cute one— oh no, I mean the taller one.

”Nice hair”, he suddenly spoke which caused my attention to turn to him. I stood there in silence with a slight chocked expression over my face, this was new to me, guys talking to me– let alone people. I was barely ever out, besides, if you did go out here you never met any guys your age.

”What?”, I blurted dumfounded by the idea that had just passed my mind. His face softened and his lips twitched into a smile on one side of his mouth, his eyes glistering under his glasses by the affection. Cute.

Your hair, you have nice hair”, he said with the same tone as before. He seemed almost slumped over the door he was stood by. I could feel my lips turn upwards and into a grin.

”Thanks”, I said slightly louder than before. He seemed like a nice one. But for some reason; I still had that feeling of these two mysterious guys being a bit, strange, to say the least.

”Can I get you a drink?”, the tall man asked, he had gotten closer by now. Something in his face suddenly flashed and it was almost like someone has whispered his name; but only for him to hear.  

”Uh, are you okay?”, I hear myself ask and before I can stop myself my hand has reached for his arm and landed on top of his upper arm. His eyes snapped onto mine the second my fingers touched him and something buried inside them.

”Y-yeah, I'm fine”, he blinked and leaned back slightly. Then he turned around and went for the front, I stared after him with confused eyes. What the hell? Okay, first rule of survival; don't get mixed up with the crazy ones Nikki. Just then the front door opened and the Sheriff stepped inside, I gave him a quick nod; he smiled to me and went for the counter and Pete.

I turned to the drinks once more and brushed the front of my blue jean-shorts before I grabbed the handle of the door and grabbed a pack of beer. I closed the door again and almsot jumped when I saw a brunette tall girl in front of me. It looked like she was staring into my soul.

”Oh sorry, I'll be out of your way”, I smiled politely but didn't feel her eyes leave me when I walked away from the door and cold drinks.

”It's no problem”, she finally said and sent me a smile back. Her eyes lingered a bit longer before she tilted her head, it was almost some type of recognition in her eyes, did I know her?

”Do I know you from somewhere?”, she asked and snatched the thought right out of my mind. I scrunched my eyebrows together and opened my mouth to answer— bam!
The deafening sound of a bullet from a gun just triggered made the both of us jump. I screamed loudly and dropped the bottles of bear in front of me. The girl screamed too and we stared at each other in shock; what the hell just happened?

Before I had time to process anything, the bathroom door opened and out came the other guy, they met up and argued for a short while but the chat was cut short when Ranger Gonzalez opened the door. Everything went downwards from there, guns were fired, triggers were pulled and bullets went flying. I inched myself in the corner of the store with the brown headed girl, she seemed almost protective over me.

I heard the two men arguing again and this time the one with the glasses; who had been the one who shot the sheriff went for us. He grabbed me by the arm and jerked me up from the floor so that my body crashed against his. In any other given moment I would have probably gone full Martial Arts / Taekwondo on him; but for some reason I was practically paralysed.


”It's her, I saw her Seth, it's in her eyes”, the one holding me said. I saw in corner of my eye how the other girl had stood up and looked outrageous; she even looked concerned for me.

”Richie, what the hell are you talking about?”, the other one said who seemed to be the sane one, although who could be sane traveling with someone like insane glasses over here?

”Please, I haven't done anything—..”, I started but got cut off by the guy holding me, Richie, he grabbed silver tape and placed it over my mouth and over my hands; as did he do with the other girl. The more sane of the two, Seth, sent us both an apologetic look and brought Richie to the front again where Ranger Gonzalez was waiting outside of.
My heart was thumping loudly and roughly inside my chest, the girl sat closely to me, I felt safer next to her for some reason. I was just hoping to find a way out of here.

Oh please do not let this be the day I die.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

[ based on: From Dusk till Dawn - The TV Series ]

 

This has been it; the beginning. I have a feeling this is going to be an epic ride so, please— stick around, this is going to be a show you will not want to miss, trust me comprade, you are not going to regret it.

 

— lovi

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av lily + zee - 14 augusti 2019 16:58

   the origin | part 2    aurora         after the small adventure out, the trio decided to end the evening by getting some ice cream down by the local shop and were now waiting for their orders, while the girl was seated on one of the barst...

Av lily + zee - 13 augusti 2019 01:14


  Looking at the office walls and patiently waiting for her father to enter the door and inform her why he wanted to have this urgent meeting with her, the thoughts are playing around in her head. Maybe he wants her to take care of an important pr...

Av lily + zee - 7 augusti 2019 20:15


the origin| mafia!au aurora         casting glances over to the time on the wall, everything moving slower than usual, hoping that would help speed the process, the girl pressed a small sigh past her parted lips. tugging her jacket closer...

Av lily + zee - 10 maj 2016 02:19


I opened my eyes to find myself on a black couch, I let out some grunts as I tried to sit up. I looked around in the room to see Nikki holding a tight grip around Seth's throat, I stirred in confusion and coughed slightly which made Nikki to let...

Av lily + zee - 5 mars 2016 15:00

Chapter 7 Culebras   Every moment that occurred after was left in a blur, all but a fading memory, barely even existent other than as a thought. The bar was left in chaos, these things came out from the darkness, all of us backed up towards the ...

Skapa flashcards