teenagenovels

Direktlänk till inlägg 5 mars 2016

Chapter 7 - Culebras

Av lily + zee - 5 mars 2016 15:00

Chapter 7

Culebras

 

Every moment that occurred after was left in a blur, all but a fading memory, barely even existent other than as a thought. The bar was left in chaos, these things came out from the darkness, all of us backed up towards the exits. I was brought back into reality and out of my thoughts when Athena pulled at me.

"We need to go", her voice echoed through my ears but barely registered into my mind. I followed her, still shocked of the sudden outburst, which made me more or less paralysed.

Richard and Seth set off after us and soon we all stood cramped in the corner of the locked front door. My heart was racing in my chest whilst observing the situation between Seth and Athena; my obliged sister.

I was left to think the situation out, although it seemed much to complicated, what were those things? Sure enough, they had fangs, which pointed toward one simple explanation - in fact, it would be rather irrational to not expect something like a vampire. Because after all, always expect the unexpected, that's what my uncle always told me.

The sudden roar of something from the back brought my attention over to the creatures, they seemed all to have lost interest in whatever was at the back, more now so; they had their sights upon us all.

"Guys.. we have a problem", I mumbled barely audible but they all seemed to register my words.

The situation accelerated roughly, blood and bullets flew at all directions, I did my best to keep behind the three of them. But another one of those creatures brought me down onto the floor, which caused me to let out a scream.
The thing hovered over me, fangs out and ready to strike at any given moment, I shut my eyes tightly while covering my face. But the impact never came and a weight was lifted from me with a sharp sound. I opened my eyes to see Richie standing closely to me, he had some sort of knife like object in his hand, there was dust beneath his feat.

"You okay there, sweetheart?", Richie let a grin form on his lips but I saw the distanced concern in his eyes while he reached a hand out for me. I grabbed it, without a word spoken and let out a small breath.

"Thanks", I managed while Athena and Seth came up to us both. I felt my mind race, almost spin, this didn't make any sense; why was this all happening?
Wasn't it enough for me to be reunited with my so called sister after years - it had to be during some sort of feeding ground? I felt chills run up my spine and had to rush my hands through my hair to brush away the thoughts.

"Hey.. are you okay?", Athena's voice brought me back into sanity.

No.

"I don't know. I don't know what's going on here or what those things are and what that dude from earlier was talking about and I don't know if I'm okay right now. I just don't know!", I rambled loudly without letting myself even breath. I let out a short huff, something resembling a laugh, but there was no emotion; no clarity; just emptiness. Richard let his stare fall upon me in a light way, there laid recognition in his eyes for a moment.

"Okay, relax. It's all good, just take a breath and sit down", Athena spoke calmly but her eyes showed all but calmness. Her hand landed on my shoulder gently but I tensed instantly; which caused her to take it off immediately. I distantly walked over to a seat and sat down silently.


20 minutes later

We were sat back in safety in the Gecko brothers car, Athena, Seth and Richard were all drained from head to toe with blood, fortunately I managed to keep myself away as much as possible. The air inside the car smelt of dried up blood from those creatures. It made me sick. I kept myself quiet and stared dreamingly through the window away at the bright daylight.

The others started up a conversation, but I had since the start tuned out, I couldn't deal with much more of this now. It just made me want to jump out the speeding car. I closed my eyes and let myself slowly drift off into some sort of rest; but I could still hear the chattering that went around in  the car between them all.

"Culebras. They are almost like vampires, except they are more snakelike than bats. The dancer girl, she's called 'Santanico Pandemonium', she's like their queen", Athena said even as she had no idea what she was saying herself. I opened my eyes and looked at her strangely confused.

"So you knew what they were? Wait, how do you know?", Seth questioned just as confused as the rest of us. Athena looked rather uncomfortable with all of our stares on her.

"Believe it or not, I don't know how I knew all of that", she admitted and shook her head slightly.


1 hour later

When we finally pulled up into the parking lot of a motel, I felt myself yawn, we then went into the motel. The man behind the desk stared at us, clearly startled and scared of our appearance. Athena, I and Seth awaited for Richard to return as he went up to the desk to get us rooms.

"You got us rooms?", Seth asked his brother.

"Better. The dude was so scared he gave us the key to a little villa just down the road. We are getting the beach view!", Richard declared with triumphing grin and a slight chuckle.

"Looks like we are on vacation", Athena said and opened the car door again. I followed her moves and slid into the car. I started playing with my fingers, not certain of why, but there was some confusion in the air around us.

"So... The Falkov sisters?", Seth started which instantly caught my attention; my head snapped up right when Athena was about to say something and the words poured out of my mouth.

"She is not my sister. My sister died when I was just a kid", I stated harsly but knew I shouldn?t have, the look that came across Athena's face made me want to take it all back. The car ride fell back into silence right away and I let out a short sigh before rubbing my temples with the use of my hands to rid of the headache that had occurred.


 


We arrived up at the villa only 10 minutes later, it looked amazing! You could see the light blue waves across the waters just a few meters away from the house; the fresh smell of the ocean struck my nose as I exited the vehicle and a small smile let itself onto my lips.

The others rushed over to the house but I stayed for a while, enjoying the moment and letting my mind at ease in the light calming winds around the area. I made my way slowly across the beach, the sand covering my converse as I walked, this place was peaceful. I could stay here for forever if I so had to. I walked closer to the waves, the sound of them hitting few rocks by one side brought me back a familiar feeling; had I been here before?

"Hey, gorgeous", someone spoke from behind me, although without turning around I could tell it was Richie. Soon enough, his frame came into view and I hinted a small smile upon his lips. We stood there for a while, silence between us, the only thing heard were the continuous crashing of the waves. But it felt comfortable. All until I remember all of the stuff we had gone through; the kiss.

"Hey, I just wanted to thank you, for you know saving my ass back there", I turned to him slightly with a unsure smile on my face. I didn't know what I felt at that moment, but something in his eyes when he looked at me made me feel safe.

"It's fine, anytime", Richie nodded with a serious tone. That was more of the man that I knew. Even when I didn't actually know him. But I knew he cared about his brother and would basically do anything for him; same for Seth. So why did their relationship bug me the slightest? Was it because I had dismissed the thought of having my sister back?

"Nikki?", Richie's voice broke through my thoughts and made me look at him; he stared at me with confusion and concern.

"Yeah, I'm fine", I mumbled and looked over at the ocean once more to try and hide away from his beautiful eyes.

"What's going on?", he asked and stepped closer which forced me, again, to look at him. I gave him my very best fake smile and shook my head; to confirm everything was alright, but unfortunately he didn't seem to buy it and placed a hand on my arm.


"You can tell me", he assured with a calming tone. I looked into his eyes, the sun shone across his face; which made his blue eyes glow even further under his framed glasses. They studied me intensely, clearly looking for a way into my head, he was desperate to know my mind; just as I was desperate to know his.

"The truth is.. I'm scared, scared that the girl inside there really is my sister, the sister I lost so long ago and that our father kept from me and me from her. I just don't understand why he would do that.. why would anyone keep us apart? I just don't understand", I breathed and felt the tears burn at the brink of my eyes; threatening to spill at any given moment.


 

Richard stood in silence, his arm still placed upon my arm, a gentle look crossed his face. He seemed to take in all of my words; unravelling them in his own mind; understanding them and making a conclusion to himself. He took a brief pause before he looked into my eyes again.

"I can't answer all of your questions, but what I do know from my own taking of this situation is that your father wouldn't have kept you two apart unless it was important", he said with a soft tone; a sweet smile came over his lips, one that I was yet to know before. I knew he was right.

We stood in silence once more and his hand had left mine while we both admired the view in front of us - it was certainly breathtaking.

"Thank you, Richard", I gently spoke which brought his eyes over to mine again.

"Anytime, sweetheart", he grinned and we both laughed lightly. It was real.

-

Richard and I walked back up the stairs towards the small villa a while after when the sun had started to fade upon the soon dark skies. Richard opened the door for me and I smiled while we stepped into the warmth. I slipped off my shoes and walked into the living room to find Athena laid onto a couch and Seth by her side. She looked pale.

"What's going on? Is she okay?", I asked hurriedly and rushed over to her. Seth looked at his brother and they shared some sort of thought. I didn't bother it and bent down to Athena and grabbed onto her hand softly. I felt the guilt rip inside me.

"She passed out at a sudden, I'm not sure what happened", Seth stood up from where he had sat next to Athena and I felt a tear slip from my eyes as I looked at her. Her hands were cold.

"Athena", I mumbled softly trying to shake her slightly, to no avail Athena laid just as still, her chest rising and lowering in the slightest of ways; almost like she was peacefully asleep. I looked over at the two brothers who were speaking in hushed voices. I let go of Athena, stood up and practically ran across the room while I pushed Seth against the wall roughly; the rare rage inside me bubbling up and through my veins.

"What the hell did you do to her?", I practically shouted and pressed him further into the wall; Seth stared clearly shocked at me and at a loss of words. Sure, I wasn't one to lash out easily, but when I did; it was said to be rather bad.

"I didn't do anything to her, I told you!", Seth snapped back while trying to get out of my grip, but I had my hand around a very sensitive spot around his neck; which at the right amount of pressure would send him to the floor.

"Hey, calm down Nikita", Richie tried from beside us but he barely dared to touch me when I sent him an unrecognisable glare. We were all interrupted by grunts that came from the couch, Athena stirred in confusion and coughed slightly which made me drop my grip around Seth's throat.

"Athena, are you okay?", I asked barely giving her space as I hugged her tightly. She let out a confused laugh and I pulled away. 


"Did I miss something?", Athena looked at all of us in turns and I smiled gently at her.

"Your sister may be small, but she is damn strong when she needs to be", Seth complained and rubbed his sore throat while he sent a glare my way. I let a innocent smile onto my lips and Athena looked at me confused.


 

"We're sisters now are we?", she joked and I felt embarrassed.


"Let's just say someone got me to a better sense", I admitted and glanced at Richard who seemed occupied with his brother once more but I could see his slight grin.

"So, what happened to you?", I asked Athena and sat down next to her on the couch.


_______________________________________________________________________________________________________


Worst ending ever. But, hey, what can you do? Like this chapter for more.

Also I tried something different with the gifs. Not sure if it's a keeper. Let me know what you think.

 

— lovi

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av lily + zee - 14 augusti 2019 16:58

   the origin | part 2    aurora         after the small adventure out, the trio decided to end the evening by getting some ice cream down by the local shop and were now waiting for their orders, while the girl was seated on one of the barst...

Av lily + zee - 13 augusti 2019 01:14


  Looking at the office walls and patiently waiting for her father to enter the door and inform her why he wanted to have this urgent meeting with her, the thoughts are playing around in her head. Maybe he wants her to take care of an important pr...

Av lily + zee - 7 augusti 2019 20:15


the origin| mafia!au aurora         casting glances over to the time on the wall, everything moving slower than usual, hoping that would help speed the process, the girl pressed a small sigh past her parted lips. tugging her jacket closer...

Av lily + zee - 10 maj 2016 02:19


I opened my eyes to find myself on a black couch, I let out some grunts as I tried to sit up. I looked around in the room to see Nikki holding a tight grip around Seth's throat, I stirred in confusion and coughed slightly which made Nikki to let...

Av lily + zee - 2 mars 2016 02:48


"It looks like we have something extra special for tonights show", the ugly dude from earlier said and two light turned on from above and shone straight on me and Nikki. I looked around confused as to what was about to happen, I looked at Nikki ...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards